Singapore Day 3 (Snow City, Science Center, Gardens By The Bay)


Day 3 – 10 March 2013

Snow City and Science Center were our first destination in day 3.

Snow city is indoor snow center located on Snow Venture Pte Ltd, Jurong Town Hall Rd, Singapore. The place offers a fun, entertaining and educational way to learn concept of snow and cold climates (especially for visitor like myself who never experience winter in our country :)). Well its not a real snow (made by combining water and liquid nitrogen), I know that, but it make my daughter happy enough since she already very eager to see and play with the snow (she asked all the time me to take her to visit her cousin who live in France and can play snow every year :)). Nothing much to play there, but glides down on a rubber was quite encouraging to do. Even both of my parents (who old enough) come into play several times :). Ah I almost forgot to inform, playing time in snow city is limited to one and two hour only.

Snow city is located adjacent to the Science Center museum. That’s why I bought the tickets for both places. The Science Center is quite fun and amusing, its also can enhance our knowledge about things in this world. They do have kinetic garden also in the front of the museum where you can play with science stuffs. One or two hours may be enough if you only want to visit a particular exhibition held there or only have a quick overview of the museum. But if you want to full experience of all interactive things there, then you will need more than a whole day. Its quite big place with many awesome stuff and information there. You know, by paid SGD 1, I got an experience ‘sting’ on electric chair used for capital punishment, its feels very shocking, you should try :). If you are curious to visit there, you can take MRT to Jurong East station than take a bus number 335. The bus will stop right in front of the Science Center museum.

After lunch time, we headed to our next destination, Gardens By The Bay. This place is pretty big (over 100 hectares if I’m not mistaken) with 2 giant domes, Cloud Forest and Flower Dome. Once we get there, we choose to ride a shuttle which took us around the outdoor garden with various themes. I say, its a smart decision to take the shuttle otherwise we won’t have enough time to explore all the gardens. Then we enter the Cloud Forest. As soon as we enter the dome, a cool breeze welcoming us. Mist from water droplets caressing our face falling from the waterfall. A 35-metres tall artificial mountain covered by vines and flowers mysteriously standing in front of us. We climbed up to the top level then down along the track while enjoying the view presented. I felt so peaceful and quiet there. Various types of tropical plants are there to spoil the eye. Here is a link if you want to see the 360 view of the Cloud Forest presented by Roy Chuang.

Flower Dome, you can find some unique flowers from different continents here. The moment I step in here, my mouth was wide opened in awe. The view is really breathtaking, I thought, OMG who the h… has an idea to make such a thing like this… its really really awesome… Honestly, I don’t have a word to describe what I saw and felt, you must visit Gardens by The Bay when come to Singapore. One thing that I regret is I cannot wait till nightfall when the OCBC Garden Rhapsody started. I promise that I will visit Garden by The Bay when I got a chance to come to Singapore, spend a whole day maybe just to explore all the gardens there .

Leave a comment